The End?

The End! Really, but we haven’t started yet, Miss Penny speaking. The end before the beginning sounds crazy, but it’s not as crazy as Susan doing cartwheels

Good try!!

across the office floor, I know a disturbing sight. But, I kid you not; she was so excited as she typed The End of her new novel, 91,184 words in Heart of Sophie’s War. That sounds like a heck of a lot of words, but then I can only count to three. Susan plays a game throwing treats for me to catch, I miss every time,

kind of on purpose, it’s easier to wait. I count 1, 2, 3 and after the third one I eat them. So, back to the historical novel,WW1, a casualty clearing hospital ripped apart. Wow, what an exciting ending, love explodes as do bombs. Some survive and some don’t and it is a close call for Sophie. Oh, the evil eye is telling me no spoilers but I can talk about the process. Susan, now starts the re-writes, I can’t say I understand that part, if it’s written why would she do it again? Susan says to make it better. Okay I get that, then it goes to Meghan Negrijn her editor. I know Meghan she’s a nice lady and very thorough. She highlights all Susan’s mistakes. Psst! Susan has an issue with commas, too many of them and she’s not too good at spelling either but Meghan makes everything perfect. The manuscript is formatted and a cover designed, oh and you can expect sample covers until the cover reveal by April and the book launch in May. Heart of Sophie’s War is book 2 in the Sophie Series.

The prequel Ruins in Silk  .99c or free (e-book only), also available in paperback on Amazon. The story of Sophie’s young life in Lucca Italy on her father’s silk farm and in Derby England at the family’s silk mill but tragedy strikes and Sophie’s life is dramatically changed. Book 1 of the series Prelude to Sophie’s War  is set at the Bartley Hospital in London England as Sophie starts her nursing career and before she nurses in the Great War.

Sophie’s story continues in Prelude to Sophie’s War   – London 1915, German Zeppelin attacks are not the only thing Sophie battles at Bartley Hospital. Will her courage be enough to keep her sane and alive? Book 2 Heart of Sophie’s War is coming soon.


The Blue Pendant  is Susan’s biggest selling novel and the first in The Sackville Hotel Trilogy If you like the elegance of Edwardian Society and decades spanning adventures you’ll love this trio. Start reading Anna’s story in The Blue Pendant. Take a peak at the new cover. E-book or paperback click here

The Blue Pendant and Book 2 Anna’s Legacy  Book 3 Sarah’s Choice   All ebooks and paperbacks on Amazon. Please, pretty please, take a minute and write a review after you read the books. Thank you!

If you like the elegance of Edwardian society, bold characters, and decades-spanning adventures, then you’ll love this historical fiction trio.

The Sackville Hotel Trilogy – Ebook Box Set      Click here for details  

She defies Edwardian protocol. Avoids marriage, but loves twice. Anna’s epic story of a strong woman’s determination and courage spans two continents and three decades.

Classic trilogy, historical, family saga, from the drawing rooms of the Edwardian era to ruthless spies of the 60s Cold War.

Lavender Cottage books, now available as a series in e-book and e-book box set, also in paperback,  Click here for the whole series 

Second Edition e-books and Paperbacks

Susan’s Reader News  if you’d like to receive it in your Inbox click here. Issued 3 or 4 times a year.

Save Some for Me – A single mother’s memoir

Could you survive an abusive man and raise five children alone?

This was a brave, insightful, revealing, and well written book of what must be one of the hardest experiences any person can go through. The courage and grace with which you tell this story is a truly affective reading experience…….  Judge’s commentary: Writer’s Digest  

Click for the retailer of your choice.   Available in paperback or e-book.

Quick Reference:

Susan’s Readers Group News – Subscribe

Susan’s website –

 My books – Synopsis and Where to buy

Contact Susan – susan(at)

 Susan’s YouTube Channel All videos  click here  


Published by

Susan Jennings

Susan A Jennings: Author teacher and founder of Just for Writers providing workshops, retreats and groups for writers and founding member of The Ottawa Story Spinners a local writers group, who have published five volumes of the Black Lake Chronicles a collection of eclectic stories and articles. Susan likes to be involved in the local writing community and is currently the Past-President of Ottawa Independent Writers. Originally from the UK Susan is a long-time resident of Ottawa. She writes and publishes, short stories and cozy mysteries. Several of her short stories are e-published and the Blue Heron Mysteries, Books 1&2, which is a collection of Hannah Wilton (amateur sleuth) mysteries are available on Kobo and Amazon as e-books. Her new historical fiction, The Blue Pendant will be available as a paperback and e-book late November or early December

We'd love to hear from you. Please comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.